Comic Parts for the Twelve Signs

(D˘ke miburi jű-ni-shi, 道外 見富利十二志)

Publisher: Ebisu-ya Sh˘shichi

c. 1848


In this series of three prints, well-known actors are portrayed as the twelve animals of the Buddhist zodiac.á The series is listed as number 180 in Kuniyoshi by Basil William Robinson (Victoria and Albert Museum, London, 1961).á The prints are each about 14 by 10 inches (36 by 25 centimeters), a size known as ˘ban.



Upper right: Rat (); actor Onoe Kikujir˘ II

Lower right: Ox (); actor Onoe Tamiz˘ IIáá

Upper left: Tiger (); actor Ichikawa Kuz˘ II

Lower left: Hare (); actor Iwai Kumesabur˘ IIIá


Another state of the above design


Top: Dragon ()

Center right: Snake ()

Bottom: Horse (); actor Sakata Sajűr˘ II

Center left: Goat ()


Another state of the above design


Upper right: Monkey ()

Upper left: Cock (); actor Band˘ Shűka I

Lower right: Dog (); actor Ichikawa Danjűr˘ VIII

Lower left: Boar ()


Another state of the above design